Vienna 1: The Imperial City

Wednesday, August 7, 7:30 pm at The Farmers’ MuseumBuy Tickets

Amphion String Quartet, Linda Chesis, flute, and Mingzhe Wang, clarinet

The Amphion String Quartet performs in Cooperstown August 7

Haydn String Quartet Op.33, No. 4
Ries Quintet, Op. 107 for flute and strings
Brahms Clarinet Quintet, Op. 115

This program features works by composers from three different generations who all lived and worked in Vienna, a cultural hub full of brilliant writers, musicians and artists. Vienna was a leading exporter of refined sugar, silk textiles and porcelain, which conveys a sense of the delicacy and beauty that surrounded composers such as Haydn, Ries and Brahms.

Hailed for its “precision, assertiveness and vigor” (The New York Times), the Amphion String Quartet is a winner of the 2011 Concert Artists Guild Victor Elmaleh Competition. The Quartet was recently chosen for two prestigious programs—the Ernst Stiefel String Quartet-In-Residence at the Caramoor Festival for the 2012-13 season and the CMS Two Program of the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, with the ensemble’s three-year membership beginning in 2013-14.

Featured 2012-2013 performances are the ASQ’s Carnegie Hall debut at Weill Recital Hall on the CAG series (with special guest artist David Shifrin), the Phillips Collection in Washington DC, Caramoor Center for the Arts, TCAN Center for the Arts (MA), The National Arts Club, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, a tour of Northern California and numerous engagements throughout the Tri-State New York area. The ASQ recently collaborated with Ani Kavafian and Carter Brey for performances at the Mostly Music Festival in New Jersey. Internationally, the quartet recently performed in South Korea at the Music Isle Festival in Jeju and at the Seoul Arts Center. In October they performed two Beethoven quartets live on WQXR as part of the Beethoven String Quartet Marathon. In addition to the Cooperstown Summer Music Festival, this summer they will be performing at the Music Mountain Festival (CT), the Chautauqua Institution (NY), Princeton University (NJ) and at Kneisel Hall (ME).

In summer 2012, the ASQ made a return visit to the OK Mozart Festival and to Chamber Music Northwest, where the ensemble performed alongside the Tokyo String Quartet, Edgar Meyer, Michala Petri and William Purvis. The Quartet concluded its summer season with debut performances at La Jolla’s SummerFest, collaborating with such artists as violist James Dunham and harpist Deborah Hoffman. Previous summer festival highlights include: Chamber Music Northwest, where the ASQ was the Protégé Quartet-in-Residence and collaborated with artistic director/clarinetist David Shifrin; the OK Mozart Festival; Music@Menlo, as part of the International Program; and the Beethoven Institute at Mannes (NYC), working closely with members of the Brentano Quartet.

Violinists Katie Hyun and David Southorn, violist Wei-Yang Andy Lin, and cellist Mihai Marica, first joined together for a performance at Sprague Hall at the Yale School of Music in February 2009. The overwhelmingly positive audience reception at this concert was the inspiration behind their mutual desire to pursue a career as the Amphion String Quartet. Recent honors include the 2012 Salon de Virtuosi Career Grant in New York; First Prize at the Hugo Kauder String Quartet Competition in New Haven, CT; and First Prize in the Piano and Strings category as well as the Audience Choice Award at the 2010 Plowman Chamber Music Competition held in Columbia, MO. More information can be found at

Linda ChesisFlutist LINDA CHESIS is founder and artistic director of the Cooperstown Summer Music Festival. She is a member of the flute faculty and chair of the Woodwind Department at the Manhattan School of Music. She has been hailed by critics on three continents as one of the most exciting and dynamic flutists of her generation. The top prize winner at the Paris and Barcelona International competitions, and at the National Flute Association Competition, Ms. Chesis has performed with orchestras and in solo recitals throughout the US, France, Great Britain, Germany, Japan and Korea. Her recordings can be heard on the EMI, Nonesuch and Music Masters labels. More about Linda Chesis…

Mingzhe WangClarinetist MINGZHE WANG, a native of Wuhan, China, was admitted at age 11 to the Wuhan Conservatory and subsequently the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing. In 1997, Mr. Wang came to the US to study at the Harid Conservatory of Music at Lynn University. He received the Doctor of Musical Arts degree from Yale University. A prizewinner in the National Society of Arts and Letters Woodwind Competition (1999), the Orchestral Instrument Competition (2001), and a recipient of the Tennessee Arts Commission’s 2013 Individual Artist Fellowship award, Mr. Wang is committed to promoting both the music of our time and the classics. He performed the Chinese premiere of Elliott Carter’s Hiyoku and has worked closely with composers such as Ezra Laderman, Aaron Jay Kernis, Lee Hoiby, Paul Schoenfield and Chen Yi. In addition, he has performed on period clarinets with the American Classical Orchestra and the Clarion Music Society Orchestra. Apart from being an active performer and educator on the clarinet, Mr. Wang is a seasoned singer. He was the vocal soloist in Chen Yi’s Percussion Concerto accompanied by the Nashville Symphony Orchestra. He has performed in choruses throughout the United States and internationally. Mr. Wang is an assistant professor of clarinet at Austin Peay State University in Clarksville, Tennessee. He is the clarinetist of the Grammy nominated Gateway Chamber Orchestra.


Comments are closed.